The DC Zone
 
A Distributed Computing Community
Home Home  Member Map
Help  HelpSearch  Search
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

  Total time logged in: 0 minutes.
  Current Time:October 13, 2019, 03:04:05 PM
+  The DC Zone
|-+  DC Projects
| |-+  World Community Grid
| | |-+  New Project - Help Conquer Cancer
Pages: [1] 2 3  All
Topic: New Project - Help Conquer Cancer (Read 14786 times) Print
Adywebb

DC Prostitute
Position: Board Regular
******

Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Where am I ???

A new Cancer project has just started over at WCG - Help Conquer Cancer   Thumbs Up

Can't see any any system requirements yet, but the first WU's seem pretty big - apparently Boinc is estimating around 7 hours completion time on a Quad @ 3.4Ghz.
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
fingerle

Resistance is Futile!
Group: Global Moderator
Position: Just Plain Smappy
**********

Offline Offline

Posts: 23968

 Eh Quad?  3.4ghz? 7hrs?  Glad I didn't buy one.

I'm getting 10hr guestimates on the 2.3ghz AMD.
-------------------------------
Crunch with BitBenderTech at WCG
IP: [ Logged ]
Adywebb

DC Prostitute
Position: Board Regular
******

Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Where am I ???

Well it is estimating yours at nearly 50% longer to crunch, so sounds about right  Tongue
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
fingerle

Resistance is Futile!
Group: Global Moderator
Position: Just Plain Smappy
**********

Offline Offline

Posts: 23968

Update 2hrs in...  down to 7 for completion...  9hrs. total and dropping.  Tongue
-------------------------------
Crunch with BitBenderTech at WCG
IP: [ Logged ]
Adywebb

DC Prostitute
Position: Board Regular
******

Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Where am I ???

Boinc estimates at the beginning are always way out - probably do yours in 7  Thumbs Up
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
fingerle

Resistance is Futile!
Group: Global Moderator
Position: Just Plain Smappy
**********

Offline Offline

Posts: 23968

Probably...   Gonna get a "touch" quicker tomorrow afternoon.  Looking at a possible 1ghz boost to 'ol Tiger-2 when it's new brain arrives.
-------------------------------
Crunch with BitBenderTech at WCG
IP: [ Logged ]
Adywebb

DC Prostitute
Position: Board Regular
******

Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Where am I ???

Nice  Thumbs Up
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
fingerle

Resistance is Futile!
Group: Global Moderator
Position: Just Plain Smappy
**********

Offline Offline

Posts: 23968

Not much...   Swapping the Optey-170 (2ghz stock) with the Optey-185 (2.6ghz) Should be able to hit 3ghz with it without any problems.

Looking around, the 185 is the fastest still available for the socket 939 boards...  Touch more horsepower for fewer $$$$.

Darn thing is cheaper than what I paid for the 170 last year.  Doh 
-------------------------------
Crunch with BitBenderTech at WCG
IP: [ Logged ]
Adywebb

DC Prostitute
Position: Board Regular
******

Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Where am I ???

Everything is cheaper now - you don't want to hear how much I paid for my QX6700's 6 months ago  Doh
Last Edit: November 01, 2007, 04:29:11 PM by Adywebb
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
fingerle

Resistance is Futile!
Group: Global Moderator
Position: Just Plain Smappy
**********

Offline Offline

Posts: 23968

  I already do...  Shocked   Been looking at them both then and now....

Woulda got one cept it won't fit on my current motherboard.  And adding another $800 to that cost to complete the build is not in the parts fund.
-------------------------------
Crunch with BitBenderTech at WCG
IP: [ Logged ]
Adywebb

DC Prostitute
Position: Board Regular
******

Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Where am I ???

System requirements now available - seems pretty light  Thumbs Up

Quote
For Help Conquer Cancer, the minimum requirements are:

1. At least 250 MB RAM (with virtual memory enabled)
2. 200 MB Hard Disk Drive with at least 50 MB available for use
3. The ability to display 8-bit graphics at 800x600 resolution
4. An Internet connection with minimum 40kpbs speed
5. Operating System: Windows 98, ME, 2000, XP, or Vista
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
Teletraan

THREAD LOCKER
Position: Chatterbox
*******

Offline Offline

Posts: 907

Thanks for the heads up, Ady  Thumbs Up
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
TLD

Group: Global Moderator
Position: DC Zoner
**********

Offline Offline

Posts: 6504

 Cool thanks Ady Thumbs Up
IP: [ Logged ]
rwillis

Communiter Bona profundere Deum est
Position: Just Plain Smappy
********

Offline Offline

Posts: 19255

Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati

Sweet....... another project the older rigs cam run.  Thanks for the info Ady Thumbs Up Thumbs Up
-------------------------------


IP: [ Logged ]
Dark Angel

Position: Just Plain Smappy
********

Offline Offline

Posts: 16771

Only slightly cranky

Minimum cpu?  Huh?
-------------------------------


"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life." -Terry Pratchett
IP: [ Logged ]
PiNkY

the dang enigma
Group: AVFWWHGQM
Position: DC Zoner
**********

Offline Offline

Posts: 3311

*squeek*

min cpu = rock? Huh?
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
john galbraith

Position: DC Zoner
********

Offline Offline

Posts: 5996

Would think somewhere around 1 gHZ or better would be enough, maybe as slow as 750 mHZ.  Also note that project is BOINC only.
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
rwillis

Communiter Bona profundere Deum est
Position: Just Plain Smappy
********

Offline Offline

Posts: 19255

Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati

That be my guess as well............
-------------------------------


IP: [ Logged ]
Adywebb

DC Prostitute
Position: Board Regular
******

Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Where am I ???

There are no minimum CPU requirements listed for any WCG Boinc projects these days - they only req a minimum 550MHz CPU if using UD - so basically anything really as long as it will crunch a unit within the required time  Thumbs Up

All projects from now on will be Boinc Only - UD is in its final death throes  Hoghappy
Last Edit: November 02, 2007, 04:26:11 AM by Adywebb
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
rwillis

Communiter Bona profundere Deum est
Position: Just Plain Smappy
********

Offline Offline

Posts: 19255

Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati

Well I'll give the minimum a go, I've an old P3 650 w/256 I'll bring back online this evening, and see what happens....
-------------------------------


IP: [ Logged ]
john galbraith

Position: DC Zoner
********

Offline Offline

Posts: 5996

From what I've seen of the runtimes of those wu's, it could take a couple of days for your old 650 to finish one.
-------------------------------
IP: [ Logged ]
rwillis

Communiter Bona profundere Deum est
Position: Just Plain Smappy
********

Offline Offline

Posts: 19255

Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati

Probly - but JTS Hoghappy
-------------------------------


IP: [ Logged ]
Orakk

<!--fffff!!!-->
Position: Settling Nicely
****

Offline Offline

Posts: 42

I'm getting 10hr guestimates on the 2.3ghz AMD.

Two days ago I had tasks @ 21 hours but now it's levelled out at 8 hrs on a 2.4 & 5 hours on the 3.0. Both dual xeons (603 pin)
IP: [ Logged ] WWW
Dark Angel

Position: Just Plain Smappy
********

Offline Offline

Posts: 16771

Only slightly cranky

I'm not certain but I think they tinker with the unit sizes after launch depending on how things run and what the reported run times average out at.
-------------------------------


"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life." -Terry Pratchett
IP: [ Logged ]
TLD

Group: Global Moderator
Position: DC Zoner
**********

Offline Offline

Posts: 6504

If your wondering why your Help Conquer Cancer WUs were aborted or why your not getting any:

Help Conquer Cancer project has been paused for a few days     
We discovered some problems with the results computed for the Help Conquer Cancer project and found a bug in the science calculation. In the interest of not possibly wasting any grid computation time, we paused this project for a few days and are starting testing of a fix for this problem. During this period, any members who have selected to only run this project will have paused agents. We encourage those members to consider helping with the other projects on World Community Grid. We expect the project to resume next week. We are sorry for the inconvenience and disruption.

http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/forums/wcg/viewthread?thread=17157
IP: [ Logged ]
« previous next »

Forum Index Unread Posts

Print
Pages: [1] 2 3  All
« previous next »
Jump to:

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Theme Copyright by Electron Inc
Page created in 0.141 seconds with 20 queries.
test